Aarhus University Seal

Two research awards granted by DCE

Department of Clinical Epidemiology has granted the Tove Nilsson and the Jørn Olsen 2024 research awards to two outstanding researchers. The two research awards were established in 2023 by Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Department of Clinical Medicine at Aarhus University and honors Jørn Olsen and Tove Nilsson, who have made a unique contribution to the development of epidemiology in each their own way.

The Tove Nilsson Award
Tove Nilsson has played a key role in the development of Department of Clinical Epidemiology over the past 14 years as head of administration and chief consultant, respectively. Tove Nilsson has established a unique professional infrastructure and built up many competencies that are relevant to the function of an international research department such as Department of Clinical Epidemiology.

Buket Öztürk Esen receives the 2024 Tove Nilsson Award
Buket Öztürk Esen holds a background in statistics from Aarhus University. Joining DCE as a student worker in 2013, she transitioned to a full-time position after completing her degree. During the years, Buket has established extensive international collaborations, leading to research stays at Stanford University and Karolinska. Besides, she was the lead statistician on a study published in American Journal of Epidemiology, which received the “article of the year award” in 2020.
Buket is also a great communicator and is excellent at disseminating her research findings. In 2020 she received an award for the best “flash talk” at the PhD day at Aarhus University and successfully earned her PhD in 2022. Buket is a team player, loved and respected by both colleagues and collaborators.

Clinical specialist and statistician Buket Öztürk Esen is the 2024 recipient of the Tove Nilsson Award.

The Jørn Olsen Award
Professor Jørn Olsen has been associated with Aarhus University for almost 50 years. He has an impressive international career and is considered to be one of the world's leading epidemiologists with more than 1,000 publications in international journals.

Tine Brink Henriksen receives the 2024 Jørn Olsen Award
Tine Brink Henriksen is head consultant at Department of Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine and has been professor at Aarhus University since 2010. Tine’s research focuses on causes of and risk factors for diseases during the neonatal period as well as disease programming during the prenatal period. In 1989 Tine helped establish the Aarhus Birth Cohort, which now covers almost 100,000 pregnancies and births. Results from the cohort has positioned Denmark as a leading nation when it comes to research in the effect of lifestyle and work environment on pregnancy outcomes, practice in the maternity wards, and handling of newborns. Tine has supervised more than 50 PhD students and published more than 400 scientific papers. She has been a member of several national and international advisory boards and decision-making committees and has received a number of awards, including the Danish cross of the order of chivalry.

Professor Tine Brink Henriksen is the 2024 recipient of the Jørn Olsen Award.

The two awards were presented by professor Hans Erik Bøtker at a department seminar on February 2, 2024.